News from EDS

EDS Professor Larry Wills Elected President of New England and Eastern Canada Region of the Society of Biblical Literature

Ethelbert Talbot Professor of Biblical Studies Larry Wills has been elected President of the New England and Eastern Canada Region of the Society of Biblical Literature. The election was held at the organization’s April meeting. Wills will serve as President for the 2014-15 academic year.

President of the House of Deputies of the Episcopal Church The Rev. Gay Clark Jennings to Deliver Episcopal Divinity School Commencement Address

The Rev. Gay Clark Jennings

The Rev. Cn. Malcolm Boyd, Community Organizer Janet Penn, former Cambridge YWCA Director Julia Perez Kennedy, and The Rt. Rev. James Tengatenga also to be honored.

Cambridge, MA (April 28, 2014) -- President of the House of Deputies of the Episcopal Church The Rev. Gay Clark Jennings ’77, the first ordained woman to hold that position, will address Episcopal Divinity School graduates at the seminary and theological graduate school’s Commencement Exercises on May 22.

The Rev. Alan M. Gates '87 Elected Bishop of Massachusetts

The Rev. Alan M. Gates '87 with EDS President and Dean Katherine Hancock Ragsdale

Episcopal Divinity School alumnus the Rev. Alan M. Gates '87 has been elected Bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of Massachusetts.

At the special electing convention held on Saturday, April 5, clergy and lay delegates elected the Rev. Alan M. Gates, the rector of St. Paul’s Church in Cleveland Heights, Ohio, to succeed the Rt. Rev. M. Thomas Shaw, SSJE as the 16th bishop of the Episcopal Diocese of Massachusetts.  The electing convention took place at the Cathedral Church of St. Paul in Boston.

Alumni/ae Elect New Representative and Committee Members

New members of the Alumni/ae Executive Committee (AEC) and one representative to the EDS Board of Trustees were recently elected. The new AEC members, whose terms run from 2014 to 2017, included William A. Doubleday '76, Katherine C. Black '86, Elizabeth W. Colton '06, and Jane C. MacIntyre '06. Carol J. Gallagher '89 was elected as the alumni/ae representative to the Board of Trustees.

Dean Ragsdale, National Religious Leaders Affirm Access to Birth Control in Advance of SCOTUS Hearing

MARCH 18, 2014, (CAMBRIDGE, MA) -- forty-five nationally recognized religious leaders, including Episcopal Divinity School President and Dean, Katherine Hancock Ragsdale, released a joint statement supporting universal access to contraception, and affirming that equal access to contraceptives through insurance coverage is a moral good. The statement comes one week before the US Supreme Court hears two cases by private companies to deny women birth control coverage in their employee health insurance, as mandated by the Affordable Care Act.

Frank Fornaro ’96 Joins Episcopal Divinity School as Interim Director of Theological Field Education

By Sam Humphrey, Staff Writer

The Rev. Frank Fornaro ’96 returns to EDS this month as Interim Director of Theological Field Education—but then again, you might say he never really left.

EDS Mourns the Death of Former President and Dean The Rt. Rev. E. Otis Charles

The Rt. Rev. E. Otis Charles, former President and Dean of Episcopal Divinity School, former Bishop of the Diocese of Utah, and founder of Oasis California, a gay and lesbian ministry, died on December 26 in a San Francisco hospice at the age of 87.

Episcopal Divinity School Announces Departure of the Rev. Cn. Dr. Kapya Kaoma as International Ministries and Pastoral Care Associate

Priest, activist, and mentor to African clergy and students to remain in consulting role

Rev. Dr. Patrick Cheng to Chair AAR LGBTIQ Committee

The American Academy of Religion announced that The Rev. Dr. Patrick S. Cheng, associate professor of Historical and Systematic Theology at Episcopal Divinity School (EDS), will chair the Academy’s Status of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Intersex, and Queer Persons in the Profession Committee in 2014.