New Students Join EDS

New Students at EDS

CAMBRIDGE, MA—On Monday, September 10, 2012, new students, from across the country and around the world, affirmed their commitment to the “service of God through the life and ministry of this school” at a 5:30pm Matriculation Service held in St. John’s Memorial Chapel at Episcopal Divinity School.

After processing into the chapel, followed by the faculty of the school, the new students and those gathered sang the opening hymn, “We all are one in mission,” followed by a welcome from academic dean Dr. Angela Bauer-Levesque. The Very Rev. Miriam Gelfer, dean of students and community life, then gave a Bidding prayer.

The matriculation address was given by Brother Geoffrey Tristram, superior of the Society of St. John the Evangelist in Cambridge, who reflected on the "wonder and mystery of being called." (Read Brother Tristram's complete address.)

“Today, you who are being matriculated, will be made part of this particular part of God’s temple, into this particular community of EDS.  You are today being invited to take your part in this particular edifice, which has been built, crafted and hewn, over many years.  This school which you are joining already has a distinctive shape, form and identity: it has a noble history and tradition,” said Brother Tristram in his address.

Following the address the students rose and affirmed their desire to be students at EDS and their commitment to the service of God, which was followed by a ritual of signing the Matriculation Book which holds the signatures of entering students dating back to the beginning of the school. The Very Rev. Katherine Hancock Ragsdale gave the closing prayer. 

In addition to those who signed the Matriculation Book on Monday, other students joined the EDS community this term and other times during the year, and will matriculate at a future service. The official Matriculation Service takes place twice a year.

[Pictured, from the larger group who matriculated to EDS this term, front row: Suzanne Culhane, William (Bill) Cruse, Rachel Wildman, Susan Butterworth, Pamela McDonald, Angie Hall, Middle row: Chip Mills, Sylvester Oluajo, Saw Solomon Opehtoo, Jimmie Sue Deppe, Back row: Bryan Cones, Michael Bousquet, Paul Wolossow, Skye Winspur]