News from EDS

Statement of Interim President and Dean the Very Rev. Francis Fornaro on the election of the Rt. Rev. Michael B. Curry as Presiding Bishop of The Episcopal Church

Bishop Michael B. Curry

On behalf of the students, faculty, staff, and alumni/ae of Episcopal Divinity School, I congratulate Bishop Michael B. Curry on his election as presiding bishop of The Episcopal Church. Bishop Curry’s ministry and leadership have been a beacon to so many both in The Episcopal Church and in the wider world—from his advocacy for compassionate and just immigration policies, to his work in ministry development and economic justice across the country.

Four Things You Need to Know about General Convention This Year

The Rev. Dr. Cameron Partridge

By the Rev. Dr. Cameron Partridge

The Episcopal Church’s (TEC) seventy-eighth triennial General Convention, running from June 25 to July 3, 2015, in Salt Lake City, UT, will take up a number of key issues ranging from church-wide restructuring to marriage equality to the election of a new presiding bishop to the church’s relationship to alcohol.

The Very Rev. Gary Hall ’76 Elected Chair of the EDS Board of Trustees

The Very Rev. Gary Hall

Cambridge, MA (June 9, 2015)--The Very Rev. James Kowalski has announced that he is retiring from Episcopal Divinity School's Board of Trustees, where he has served for five years and was elected chair three times. In a private message to fellow trustees, the Very Rev. Kowalski expressed his hope and prayers for a bright future for the institution he called "transformational in my life." Kowalski currently serves as dean of St. John the Divine Episcopal Cathedral in the Diocese of New York.

EDS Dedicates The Rev. Dr. David J. Siegenthaler ’55 Atrium

David Siegenthaler

Cambridge, MA (May 8, 2015)--Episcopal Divinity School (EDS) honored longtime associate the Rev. Dr. David J. Siegenthaler by dedicating The Rev. Dr. David J. Siegenthaler ’55 Atrium in Sherrill Library during the school’s Alumni/ae Days festivities.

Dr. Gale A. Yee Receives the Graduate Theological Foundation's Krister Stendahl Medal

Gale Yee Receives Krister Stendahl Medal

Dr. Gale A. Yee, Nancy W. King Professor of Biblical Studies at Episcopal Divinity School, was awarded the 2015 Krister Stendahl Medal in Biblical Studies by the Graduate Theological Foundation, during the institution's annual commencement ceremony in Mishawaka, IN, on May 8. Named for the Swedish theologian and New Testament scholar, Emeritus Bishop of Stockholm, Professor Emeritus and former dean of Harvard Divinity School, the Krister Stendahl Medal is awarded annually to an eminent Biblical scholar. Past recipients include The Rev. Professor John Barton of Oxford University, and Dr.

Friendship and Joy: Commencement Eucharist Sermon by Dr. Fredrica Harris Thompsett

The following is the text of the sermon given by Dr. Fredrica Harris Thompsett, Mary Wolfe Professor Emerita of Historical Theology, during the 2015 Commencement Eucharist on Wednesday, May 20. 

In the name of one God:
Who blesses us without asking,
Persistently leads us to new life
And joyously pursues us morning by morning, day by day.

Episcopal Divinity School Names the Rev. Dr. Thomas Eoyang Jr. as Dean of Student and Community Life

The Rev. Dr. Thomas Eoyang

Episcopal Divinity School today announced the appointment of the Rev. Dr. Thomas Eoyang Jr. (MDiv ’03, DMin ’14) as the school’s dean of student and community life. The Rev. Dr. Eoyang will begin his appointment on June 1, 2015, and will reside on the EDS campus in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Statement of Episcopal Divinity School Interim President and Dean the Very Rev. Francis Fornaro on the Death Penalty

As a community of study and spiritual formation striving to serve and advance God’s mission of justice, compassion, and reconciliation, I and many of my colleagues and students at Episcopal Divinity School have prayerfully followed the trial of the now convicted Boston Marathon bomber Dzhokhar Tsarnaev.

Reflections on Hope: An Epilogue to the Jonathan Daniels Lecture

Sr. Simone PanelOn Friday, May 8, 2015, Episcopal Divinity School (EDS) held its Jonathan Daniels Lecture, which is given periodically by an activist or leader in a social justice movement.

Professor Kwok Pui Lan Receives 2015 Gutenberg Research Award

Kwok Pui Lan receives Gutenberg Research Award

Dr. Kwok Pui Lan, William F. Cole Professor of Christian Theology and Spirituality at Episcopal Divinity School, was awarded the 2015 Gutenberg Research Award on May 4, 2015, in Mainz, Germany. The Gutenberg Research Award, given by the Gutenberg Research College (GRC) of the Johannes Gutenberg University (JGU) of Mainz, is granted to distinguished international researchers whose work has had an impact beyond narrow disciplinary boundaries.