News from EDS

EDS Awarded Lilly Endowment Grant to Improve Economic Well-Being of Future Ministers

CAMBRIDGE, MA (December 2, 2013)—The Lilly Endowment has awarded Episcopal Divinity School a $250,000 grant to support the school’s efforts to improve the economic well-being of future ministers.

 Funds from the grant will be used to examine and strengthen financial and educational practices at EDS with the goal of improving the economic well-being of future church leaders, and with a particular focus on reducing student loan debt.

Sarah Monroe '13 Receives EES Morgan Award

The Board of Directors of the Evangelical Education Society of the Episcopal Church (EES) honored the outstanding work of the Rev. Sarah Monroe (Episcopal Divinity School ’13, Diocese of Olympia) with the Morgan Directors’ Award. The EES Board met November 5-7, 2013 at the School of Theology, University of the South, Sewanee.

Episcopal Divinity School Names the Rt. Rev. James Tengatenga, Bishop of Southern Malawi, A Presidential Fellow

Cambridge, MA (November 15, 2013)—Citing a strong record of human rights activism and pastoral leadership, Episcopal Divinity School (EDS) announced today that the Rt. Rev. James Tengatenga, Bishop of Southern Malawi (Anglican Communion), will serve as a Presidential Fellow for six months beginning January 2014. The fellowship was made possible with the support of the Episcopal Dioceses of Connecticut and Massachusetts.

Conrad Selnick '83 Named Vice President at Bexley Seabury Seminary

Bexley Seabury Seminary Federation President Roger A. Ferlo announced on November 12 that the Rev. T. Conrad Selnick (EDS '83) will become the federation’s vice president for advancement and church relations in January 2014. Selnick is currently rector of St. Christopher’s by the River Episcopal Church in Gates Mills, Ohio in the Diocese of Ohio.

Jonathan Daniels Fellow Lorena Boswell Launches Street Newspaper

Lorena BoswellNovember 8, 2013 (Cambridge, MA) -- Seminarian and Jonathan Daniels Fellow Lorena Boswell can add one more title to her resume: newspaper editor and publisher.

President Ragsdale Urges a Yes Vote for the Employment Non-Discrimination Act

November 5, 2013 (Cambridge, MA) -- Episcopal Divinity School President and Dean Katherine Hancock Ragsdale, along with 10 other seminary presidents from across the nation, has signed a letter in support of S. 815, the Employment Non-Discrimination Act (ENDA). If enacted, the bill would provide protections against workplace discrimination based on sexual orientation and gender identity. The letter has been sent to the U.S. Senate, which has already voted to pass the bill, and to the House of Representatives as that body prepares to take up the legislation.

Charles Wynder Jr. '12 Named to Episcopal Church Structure Task Force

Episcopal Divinity School Alumnus Charles Wynder Jr. '12 has been appointed to the Task Force for Reimagining the Episcopal Church by Presiding Bishop Katharine Jefferts Schori and House of Deputies President Gay Jennings.

Ford Foundation Names Hilary Pennington '10 Vice President for Education, Creativity and Free Expression

NEW YORK, September 9, 2013--The Ford Foundation has announced the appointment of Hilary Pennington '10 as vice president for the foundation's program on Education, Creativity and Free Expression.

Ms. Pennington will lead the foundation’s work on school reform in the U.S. and higher education around the world, next generation media policy and journalism, support for arts and culture, and sexuality and reproductive rights. 

Director of Music Ellen Oak Gives 2013 Matriculation Address

The following is a recording and transcript of the 2013 Matriculation Address given by EDS Director of Music Ellen Oak. Click here to see photos from the Matriculation Service.

Victor Kazanjian '86 Named Executive Director of The United Religions Initiative

Victor Kazanjian '86

SAN FRANCISCO, September 4, 2013--The United Religions Initiative (URI) has announced the appointment of Victor Kazanjian '86 as its new Executive Director. Kazanjian is an ordained priest in the Episcopal Church and holds a Master of Divinity degree from the Episcopal Divinity School in Cambridge, Massachusetts. He is also a graduate of Harvard University.