New EDS Board Members Elected in October

The EDS Board of Trustees elected five new members on Thursday, October 22, 2015, bringing the board’s total membership to 16. EDS trustees are elected to a five-year term that is renewable for a second five-year term.

Meet the New Trustees

Canon Bonnie Anderson is a former president of the House of Deputies. She was first elected vice president of the House of Deputies in 2004, and was elected president in 2006 and re-elected in 2009. She was noted for her efforts to support the role of laity in the governance of the church. She is from the Episcopal Diocese of Michigan, where she served as canon to the ordinary and president of the standing committee. Anderson is a 1968 graduate of the University of the Pacific and received an MS and MSW degrees from the University of Michigan. She holds honorary doctor of divinity degrees from EDS and University of the South (Sewanee) and an honorary doctor of canon law degree from Seabury-Western.

Mr. Thomas W. Anderson has 50 years of experience in higher education serving educational institutions as a dean, professor, vice president, trustee, and consultant. He was an adjunct professor of design and innovation from 1999–2015 at the Weatherhead School of Management, Case Western Reserve University (CWRU), where he taught social ethics. Earlier in his career, he was adjunct professor of political science at CWRU. He also served as vice president for institute relations at the California Institute of Technology. Anderson is a member of the Dean’s Council and the Campaign Advisory Committee at Harvard Divinity School. He has also served as a member of the Chapter (governing board) of the Washington National Cathedral, a trustee of the Seabury-Western Theological Seminary, and a member of the Dean’s Council at the University of Dayton School of Law.

The Rt. Rev. Douglas Fisher (DMin ’07) is bishop of the Diocese of Western Massachusetts. Fisher was pastor of holy innocents in Highland Falls, NY, and chaplain to United States Military Academy at West Point (1997–2000), and chair of the standing committee for the Diocese of New York. He is a graduate of St. John’s University, where he received his BA, and Immaculate Conception Seminary where he earned a MDiv, and Episcopal Divinity School where he received a DMin. Born and raised in Valley Stream, Long Island, Fisher is married to the Rev. Elizabeth Fisher, and has three children.

The Rev. Anne Howard (MATS ’85) is executive director emerita of The Beatitudes Society. Before The Beatitudes Society, she served as associate rector at Trinity Episcopal Church in Santa Barbara, CA, a church well-known for its prophetic social justice teaching, preaching, and action. A seasoned and accomplished preacher, she now preaches occasionally at Trinity as preacher-in-residence. She is the author of Claiming the Beatitudes: Nine Stories from a New Generation (Alban, 2009).

The Rev. Canon Dr. Gregory Straub (PDS ’73) is former executive officer of the Episcopal Church General Convention. Dr. Straub was appointed to the position in 2005 and retired in 2013. Upon his retirement he was awarded the inaugural House of Deputies Medal. Straub was ordained a priest in the Diocese of Central Pennsylvania in 1974, served 30 years at Emmanuel Church, Chestertown, MD, (Diocese of Easton) and is a graduate of Dickinson College, Philadelphia Divinity School, and Drew University. He attended his first General Convention in 1976 and served four terms as deputy. At the 74th General Convention he served as assistant secretary for voting of the House of Deputies. He previously served on the EDS board from 2004 to 2010.