Sarah Monroe '13 Receives EES Morgan Award

The Board of Directors of the Evangelical Education Society of the Episcopal Church (EES) honored the outstanding work of the Rev. Sarah Monroe (Episcopal Divinity School ’13, Diocese of Olympia) with the Morgan Directors’ Award. The EES Board met November 5-7, 2013 at the School of Theology, University of the South, Sewanee.

The Rev. Monroe interned with Ecclesia Ministries in Boston during her second year at Episcopal Divinity School. She developed a deep love for street ministry while doing this work, and proposed an E-21 grant to create liturgies and Bible studies, based on liberation theology, for use in her home diocese of Olympia. She now serves St. Andrew’s Episcopal Church in Aberdeen, WA and has started Chaplains on the Harbor, a ministry to people in spiritual and economic crisis, in the Chehalis River Valley. The four Bible studies and two liturgies she created may be downloaded from the website.

“Sarah travelled, literally, across the country to discern the commonalities and differences of a wide variety of street ministries, both urban and rural,” said Day Smith Pritchartt, Executive Director of EES. “Her work is an inspired application of her academic study to the community she is called to serve, offering fresh access to the Gospel to people desperately seeking good news. It is a privilege to support her fresh initiative and I hope that friends of EES will visit her website, use her resources and support her in any way they are able.”

The Morgan Directors’ Award is named for the Rev. E. F. Michael Morgan, Ph.D. Morgan, a 1970 graduate of Philadelphia Divinity School, served on the board of EES for many years until his retirement in 2007. It is awarded annually to as many as three grantees whose work is deemed an exemplary fulfillment of EES objectives for innovation and gospel proclamation.

EES awards Evangelism for the Twenty-First Century grants to Episcopalians in seminary communities, for innovative ministry projects. Students, faculty, staff and their spouses and partners are eligible to apply. Applications for the spring grants cycle must be submitted by February 3, 2014; applications for the fall cycle are due September 22, 2014. For more information visit or contact Ms. Day Smith Pritchartt, Executive Director, (703) 807-1862 or